The Provincial Oversight Committee of Basilan has recently declared 12 barangays in Lamitan City as  drug-free barangay.

Mayor Rose U. Furigay has disclosed that the 12 barangays are; Arco, Malakas, Luksumbang, Baas, Bohesapa, Boheyakan, Boheyawas, Bulingan, Look, Lumutan, Calugusan and Danit Puntukan.

The  Provincial Oversight Committee is composed of the Philippine Drug Enforcers Unit, Office of the Governor, Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Basilan Police Provincial Office, Dept. of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) and others government agencies.

According to Furigay, the oversight committee conducted a series of assessment, evaluation and visitation on the 12 barangays and also carried a thorough investigation if there are no more drug users or pushers in the said communities.

Prior to the declaration of the committee that the 12 barangays are drug- free, Furigay, who is the Chairman of the City Anti-Drug Abuse Council (CADAC), that is composed of the Vice Mayor’s Office,  City Council and other stakeholders in the city,  also conducted  a comprehensive process in drug clearing effort and  series of investigation, assessment and evaluation on the said 12 barangays before they were finally declared by the committee.

Lamitan City is composed of 45 barangays.- Allen Abastillas